The Will Caviness Award was created in 2011, and it recognizes runners who help or inspire others in the community. Caviness, a husband to Jenny, father to Caroline and Jack and a Greensboro Fire Department captain, died after collapsing near the end of the Chicago Marathon on Oct. 9, 2011. He ran the race while raising money for the International Association of Fire Fighters’ burn foundation.


The Will Caviness Award Winners:

2011: Kristi Hunter, Tommy Boles

2012: Gregg Westbrook, Chris Hicks, Chris Lindstrom, Ty Jenks, Kevin Rice

2013: Naomi Ballen

2014: Jeff Keezer

2015: Eddie Wooten

2016: Frank Smith

2017: Carl Cook

2018: Danny McCormick

2019: Hollis Oberlies

2020: The Running Community

2021: Sarah Hampton (Running Shorts Article & presentation)

2022: Ron Dunsmore (Running Shorts Article)